Living Food

The fast-prepared meals are working out great…however…I don’t feel as well.  I can’t say for certain that it’s from the chemicals and preservatives.  I might just have a touch of something that’s going around.  But what if I do have a virus or something, but it would have been prevented if my body didn’t have to expend energy on sorting out the chemicals and preservatives from the real food?

But…babysteps.  Build one healthy habit at a time.  I already love fresh fruit.  I must have fresh fruit every day!  🙂  My one habit for this week (or two or three weeks, however long it takes) is to take that good habit one step further.  I want to eat something that is alive as part of each meal.  Fresh fruit, fresh veggies, yogurt…there is something about living food that makes me feel incredibly healthy.

Something that has been a trend among the blogs I read is “green smoothies.”  Basically, you make a smoothie, but you add some fresh greens like spinach, romaine lettuce, collard greens, anything like that.  It sounds…unusual…but I’m willing to give it a try.  I made one this afternoon with a couple handfuls of spinach, a banana, an orange, a handful of frozen berries, and a few ice cubes.  It ended up to be almost exactly a glass full.  And it’s a power punch of nutrition…three servings of fruit, about two servings of veggies!  And thanks to the berries, it wasn’t even green, more like dark red!  (Obviously that picture is not actually my smoothie!)  Plus it was tasty.  Very fresh and cold, sweet and fruity.  Not something I’d want to drink on a 10 degree day, but a very good treat for a sunny, windy spring day.  I paired it with a turkey and cheese sandwich, and I feel like I had a very healthy lunch!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Coming Through the Fog « Dawn’s Place

Leave a comment