Coming Through the Fog

yoga4

This is going to sound so strange, but…I went to yoga tonight, for the first time in a few months, and in the middle of a tree pose I realized that I am feeling more like myself than I have in quite some time!  I hadn’t realized I wasn’t!  🙂

 

I’ve had a green smoothie every day since I got back from San Diego.  I just cannot tell you what a difference it makes!  My favorite these days is a peach, an orange, a handfull of blueberries, a couple generous handfuls of spinach, and water. 

Wait, sidenote, do you all know about green smoothies???  I had my first green smoothie in April of 2008.  (No, I don’t know that off the top of my head, I looked back at this post to find out!)  I had learned about them from reading Happy Foody, and I decided to do the 30-day challenge the author, Sara, proposed.  Actually, it was a little bit more of a process than that… 

Step One: Ew, gross!  Who would put greens in a smoothie?

Step Two: Okay, maybe not so gross, but still very weird, and not something I would ever try. 

Step Three:  Yes, I will try a green smoothie, but I certainly couldn’t drink one every day for a month! 

Step Four: How did I ever live without green smoothies???  🙂

A green smoothie is simple: fruit, greens, and water.  Whatever fruit you want.  Whatever greens you want.  And some of the water can be in the form if ice, if you prefer.  I almost always do spinach for my greens, because it’s easy to find in the store, it really packs a nutritional punch, and it doesn’t make the smoothie taste “plant-y,” as I’ve found some greens can.  I usually do two or three servings of fruit, about 1 to 1 1/2 cups of fresh spinach, and maybe 3/4 cup of water.  Then you just blend and drink!  The fruits I love in my smoothies are peaches and oranges.  As long as I put one or the other, it will turn out well! 

And what a difference!  That quantity of fruit and greens usually makes about a quart of smoothie, which sounds like a lot, but that’s my breakfast for the day.  And I feel great until a mid-morning snack, or sometimes even until lunch.  After a few days in a row of green smoothies, I start to realize it’s easier to wake up in the morning.  I have more energy throughout the day.  Often times I notice fewer cravings for sugar or junk food.  After about a month, I notice my skin is brighter and clearer.  It’s sort of a mysterious feeling of…I didn’t know I didn’t feel good before, but now I know I feel great!  As though I didn’t know what “great” felt like, before.  And the best thing about them, in my opinion, there is no gimmick or “magic cure” whatsoever!  It’s simply fresh fruits and veggies. 

 

But the big reason I am feeling more like myself…I have gotten a workout in almost every day since I got back from San Diego!  My New Years’ resolution, if you recall, was to exercise 200 times in 2009.  I’m at 45, as of tonight.  That’s not great.  But I still intend to make it to 200 by December 31st!  (That’s 155 workouts in 189 days, in case you’re counting!)  My immediate goal is to become so addicted to exercise, to make it so much of a daily habit, that when school starts I won’t give it up.  My long term goals still include the 200 workouts, of course, and also running a 5K in the fall, and my first 10K sometime in 2010. 

I stopped being concerned with those goals at some point.  I know it was influenced greatly by the negativity in my life, especially around February and March.  But, despite the attitudes of the people around me, my healthy choices are my responsibility.  Mostly because, the only body that suffers when I make poor choices is me.  And, the only body that benefits when I make smart choices, is me.  I know what works for me, and I know how I feel when I don’t make such good choices.

 

I was in a fog of negativity, and I didn’t even realize it.  I was stressed, and unhappy, and unhealthy.  When I did try to make healthy choices, they were for the wrong reasons, so they didn’t stick.  Most days I had a very defeated attitude…an attitude predicting failure…an attitude that didn’t feel like me at all.  In the past month, the fog has been steadily lifting.  And everything seems clear again.  🙂

Leave a Reply

