Make A Wish…Don’t Be Scared!

Do you ever feel like everything in your life comes together?  Like all the unrelated pieces are suddenly all on the same topic?

Tonight I was having a conversation with Sarah about a quote I heard last weekend: “Reaching maturity means you no longer need to be lied to.”  The whole talk was great, but I really hate this quote, if it’s true.  I still want to be lied to.  I want someone to tell me that everything will be okay, that true love is real, that I can live happily ever after.  Maturity is crappy because it blows wide open all the hopes and dreams you have always had.  Adulthood has shell-shocked me in ways I didn’t realize were possible.  The pervasive unhappiness in life, the unlikelihood of people treating each other with goodness and love, the impossibility of happily ever after…

But…

It occurred to me as Sarah and I were talking that the fact that I believe that happiness and goodness are lies is a bigger issue than the thought that I still want to be lied to.  The truth is, I don’t want to be lied to, I want happiness and goodness to be true!  I don’t want someone to tell me that my dreams are possible, I want my dreams to be possible!

There are people in this world…I believe the word is “cynics”…who will say that’s just the way life is, crappy things happen, you just have to get through them.  People aren’t good, you have to protect yourself.  Love isn’t real, you have to keep your walls up.  Happiness is an illusion, just waiting for something bad to expose it for the hoax it is.  This cynical viewpoint is tempting, because you can’t get too badly hurt.  You expect the bad stuff, you protect yourself from it, and it doesn’t surprise you when it shows up.

I don’t think I want to be a cynic, though.

There are people…who the cynics might call “naive”…who believe that happiness is the default setting on life, that pain makes us strong, that the bad sweetens the good.  They expect good things to happen, and they rejoice when they do.  This viewpoint is scary, because you open yourself up to a world of pain if you’re wrong, if things aren’t going to turn out just fine.

Being a cynic is tempting, but I don’t want to live in a world where happiness is a lie.  I don’t want to go on unless I can go forward believing that people are good, that love is real.

And then I had a phone conversation with someone special…you can probably guess who!…that reminded me that what I feel for him is real, and reciprocated.  And then I was catching up on and episode of One Tree Hill, and the quote during the ending montage was this:

Make a wish and place it in your heart.  Anything you want.  Everything you want.  Do you have it?  Good.

Now believe it can come true.

You never know where the next miracle is going to come from, the next smile, the next wish come true.

But if you believe that it’s right around the corner, and you open your heart and mind to the possibility of it, to the certainty of it…

You just might get the thing you’re wishing for.

The world is full of magic.  You just have to believe in it. 

So make your wish.  Do you have it?  Good.

Now believe in it with all your heart.

Leave a Reply

