French Fries, Books, and Spreadsheets

frenchfries

I’ve been craving french fries all day.  I’ve become a french fry snob.  In the way of fast food, only Runza will do.  McDonalds and Burger King make french fries that are way too skinny and crispy.  But what I was really craving was seasoned french fries, just like you can get at…Chili’s!  Which is just where Mike suggested tonight for dinner.  Our food cravings have had a few crazy moments where we both crave the same thing.  Last week we were eating at the Millard Roadhouse with a big group of friends, and we each ordered the grilled cheese with fries without knowing that the other one ordered it.  And tonight, we were both thinking mushroom swiss burger.  Weird, weird, weird.

 

 

 

 

books

 

 

 

 

I’ve been rudely awakened to the fact that my New Year’s resolution for 2008 was to read and return all the books I have borrowed, and that I’m almost out of time.  Mike and I were talking about New Year’s resolutions for 2009 tonight, and I can’t commit to one until I finish this one!  So after I write this, it’s STRAIGHT to bed to read my books!  🙂  I have a few books left.  Eat, Pray, Love, which I’m currently reading, belongs to my sister Megan.  Memoirs of a Geisha, which belongs to my friend Tara.  Somebody Else’s Kids, belonging to Aunt Betty.  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is my sister Sarah’s.  American Dreams is Uncle Dean’s.  That seems like a lot…  And the sad thing is, I think I’ve had each of those books for over a year!!!  Should have been my resolution for 2006 or 2007!  🙂

 

 

 

money_tree

I was paying my bills tonight and got dinking around on Microsoft Excel.  (It’s more fun than it sounds!)  According to the current plan, I will be debt-free except for my big student loan in May of 2013.  That is such a long way off that I can’t count on that, you know?  By May of 2013 my life could be completely different.  It’s pretty addictive, though, playing with different situations.  What if I take $100 a month away from fun money and put it toward debt?  What if I paid toward debt instead of putting money in my savings account?  What if I assume that I’ll make a certain amount this summer and put it all toward debt?  What if I quit the gym?  And now, I’ve created all these little Excel spreadsheets for each loan and I can change the payment for each month from now to May of 2013 and see what happens.  Maybe I’ll play just a little longer before I go to bed…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: the girl behind the sprout « The Tiny Sprout

Leave a comment