Book Report: Matched

Our time together feels like a storm, like wild wind and rain, like something too big to handle but too powerful to escape.  It blows around me and tangles my hair, leaves water on my face, makes me know that I am alive, alive, alive.  There are moments of calm and pause as there are in every storm, and moments when our words fork lightning, at least for each other.

There is one review on the back of the book that says it all:  “If you like a ton of romance with your totalitarian government, this novel is for you!”

This book reminds me of many book-lovers who have recommended books to me over the years.  It seems that I don’t find books of my own, I just read what others recommend.  So when bits and pieces of this book remind me of books that have been suggested to me…I want to recommend this one to the fellow book-lover!

I love that the main character, Cassia, doesn’t start off rebellious.  She starts off as a content rule-follower who believes in the Society.  I love that she has such space to grow, and her journey has only begun.  I have two more books to go in this trilogy.

The dystopian Society is a little bit terrifying.  Each person knows only their own trade.  There are people who grow the food, people who cook the food, people who deliver the food…but no one knows how to do all parts of the process.  No one can survive on their own.

One of the crazy things about the Society is that they have decided they should declutter culture.  They have, over several generations, destroyed and forgotten all but 100 poems, 100 songs, 100 stories, 100 history lessons…  I’m all for decluttering, but culture?  A hundred songs???  There is no way I could reduce my own music collection to 100 songs, much less pare down the music for an entire culture!  And a major theme in the story is Cassia’s realization that someone could create something new.  The idea of writing your own words is completely foreign to the people who live under the Society.

I am engrossed.  I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

Leave a Reply

