Book Reports

I miss my 2011 New Years’ Resolution, and all the book reports that I posted!  I admit, there weren’t as many as I had hoped, but I loved sharing with you what I was reading!

(In hindsight, I should have combined some sort of TV ban with the book resolution.  One of the great joys, so far, of my giving up TV for Lent is that I “have time” (as thought I didn’t before) to read.  You may be reading several book reports in the next few weeks!)

So, lately…

The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett:  Sabine’s best friend, a gay man to whom she is married, dies on the first page of this book.  This book was intriguingly consuming.  Just when I began to think, “Well, all my questions have been answered.  The mysteries are solved.  Nothing is left hanging.”… Then I would find out that there was something I hadn’t yet been told.  By the end, I was riveted, consumed, and completely enthralled with each character, including…no, especially the dead ones.

The Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand:  What happened to Greg and Tess?  What happened to Greg and Tess???  (People die on the first page of this book, too.  Interesting theme we have.)  The question of wondering what happened to Greg and Tess was all I could think about when I started reading.  But it blossomed into a character-developing story of friendships and relationships realigning themselves and settling where they were probably meant to be all along.

 

Leave a Reply

