DPP 2011 — Life Moments

December 17:  I had a lovely little Christmas-y photo to share today, but it’s going to have to wait until tomorrow.  Life happens, and unexpected things present themselves, and you have to change your plan.  For example, after a sick day followed by about 24 hours away from home to celebrate my wonderful sister’s graduation, I came home to find my bathtub full of water and black stuff.  I could really use an evening in sweatpants, lying on the couch.  Instead, I find myself calling emergency maintenance and awaiting a drain service.

But here comes the good part.  (Not to overthink the situation too much…)  I think growth and grace come through difficult surprises.  Another unexpected maintenance-related thing happened yesterday.  (It’s been a busy week for the maintenance staff in my apartment.  I need to bake those great guys some cookies or something!)  The head maintenance guy knocked on my door about 10:00 a.m., expecting me to be at work.  I was home sick, in my sweatpants, lying on the couch.  That is not how I usually present myself to the world!  But I let him in, he worked on my furnace, and he was so sweet and respectful, as always.  I was reminded that, sick or well, dressed or in pajamas, made up or not, I am a person worthy of respect and sweetness.

I love December Photo Project because it makes me love my life more!  Strange, but taking pictures of random small moments each day encourages me to really look at the little moments, and enjoy them.  And I can look back and remember small moments of grace.

Where have you found grace this month?

Leave a Reply

