Almost Time…

The picture you see above is the reflection project I made for the last class of my masters program.  I don’t just scrapbook about public education for fun.  By the way.  🙂

My masters program is done, and the school year is about to start.  I cannot tell you how excited I am to have a year when all I have to do is work, and live my life.  Not study.  Not attend class.  Not make projects and write papers.  Just work.  And live my life.

In a couple of weeks, I’ll go back to work.  The first few days will be all about finding my stuff, setting up my classroom, and getting bombarded with so many things to do I won’t know which way is up.  I’ll spend more hours at school than at home for awhile.  I won’t be able to sleep.  Which is fine, because I’ll dream about work when I am asleep.  I’ll forget to eat.  If I’m not careful, I’ll forget to drink water.  This state of overwhelming stress is temporary, but it’s coming.  Right now, when motivation is high and stress is low, I’m thinking about some goals and commitments for those two areas–work and life–for this school year.

Work is easy.  More work done between 4:00 and 6:00 at work, less work brought home.  Less candy for the kids, more healthy snacks.  More focus on the big picture and less stressing about test scores and politics.

Life is harder.  This year is going to be about fixing what I broke.  I have spent the last two years writing papers, doing projects, reading textbooks and professional literature, doing research, and writing about it.  Sleeping little, drinking coffee lots.  Exercising little, sitting in front of my computer lots.  Cooking little, eating fast food lots.  It was worth it–unless all the sleep deprivation, caffeine, and processed food has taken years off my life…there’s a distrubing thought…  But now it’s time to fix what I broke.  More sleep.  More exercise.  More green smoothies.  More sleep.  More bible-reading.  More dating.  More fun-having.  More sleep.  More apples. 

More SLEEP.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 12:16:31

    ahhhhh, more sleep. zzzzzzzzz. that is the one healthy thing that is not hard for me to do! I love to feel rested.
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, see ya after the dreams:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

