Book Report #15: Goodnight Nobody

I gave up on Goodnight Nobody by Jennifer Weiner after just four pages.  I’m sure it’s great, but the main character is making me so mad, I can’t go on.  She’s very resentful of her children.  And I’m sure I could be sympathetic if I learned her story, but this is a fictional character, and reading is supposed to be fun.  I can find it in my heart to be compassionate toward real women who resent or dislike their children, but in the case of an imaginary woman, I’m not obligated to try.  Sorry, Ms. Weiner; try this one on someone who doesn’t have such a heart for kids.

Leave a Reply

