Their Troth

William:  “….to love and to cherish, until death us do part, according to God’s holy law.  And thereto, I give thee my troth.”

Kate:  “…to love and to cherish, until death us do part, according to God’s holy law.  And thereto, I give thee my troth.”

Me:  Does troth mean treasure and wealth?  That doesn’t sound as beautiful and fairy-tale as the rest of the vows; his troth is surely bigger than her troth.  Why would they want to talk about troth in their wedding vows? 

It turns out troth means promise, as in “I give you my word.”  Never mind. 

And that is one of the many reasons why I shall never marry a prince.  🙂

Photo Credit
Leave a Reply

