Book Report #2b: How to move the cheese

Yesterday I spoke about the book Who Moved My Cheese?  and said I’m adaptable to change.  That’s true–when the change is forced upon me.  I don’t really resist, I just jump in with both feet and think about how to follow through later.  Not the most responsible strategy, to be sure.  But I experience very little stress or discomfort when the decision is made for me.  I just jump.  One of my coworkers said recently, “This organization (the school district) likes to build a plane and fly it at the same time.”  That’s how I am with change that is imposed on me.  Unfortunately.

I also, unfortunately, think it makes me frustrating to the people around me.  We are experiencing some major changes in our school and our district, and people vent and complain.  A lot.  More than once, I have been asked by a coworker, “Are you just completely stressed this year?”  They want me to say, yes, I’m stressed, it’s not just you, I can’t handle it.  But if I’m being honest, I say, “No, I’m fine.  This year, for me, is so much better than last year!”  It probably peeves them.

Who Moved My Cheese? doesn’t talk about initiating change.  In that regard, I sit and stew and stall.  And stall.  And stall.  I’m not at all scared of things changing.  I’m terrified of changing things.  But then, I find myself wishing for change, but completely ignoring the fact that I could change something.  I just wait for change to happen to me.  Sometimes under the pretense of something noble, like “letting God work in His own time.”  A lovely sentiment, and a good concept to consider, but not always a good reason to keep from making a choice.

I didn’t particularly need this book.  I need a book called How to Move the Cheese.  🙂  There is one question in this book that would be helpful for me to ponder:  What would you do if you weren’t afraid? 

I quote this song a lot in regards to change, and I’m quoting it again:

Foolishly I fall into the obvious pattern of it all.

Carelessly I stall, thinking change was just a friend that never called.

“London (Foolishly)” by Nick Jonas

Leave a Reply

