67 Book Reports

This is the shelf that now holds all the books I own but have not read.  All 67 of them.  Yikes.  In case you are crazy enough to check my counting, that’s all the books that you can see the spines.  (The small stack on the top right are books I’ve borrowed and already read.  The bottom right is mostly my cookbooks, as well as a few books I’ve already read that didn’t fit on the other shelf.)

I have 67 books on my shelves that qualify for my 2011 goal.  That’s after I got rid of a handful of books that I’m just not interested in and I know I will not read.  In order to keep myself motivated and accountable, I plan to post a quick account of each book I read that counts toward the goal.  (Not the books I get from the library, no books I reread, etc.)  I don’t want a “book report” requirement to hinder my progress either, so it might just say:  “I read Twilight by Stephenie Meyer.  It was great.”  Something short and sweet.  Or long and sweet, depending on what I feel like saying about it.

I may need to consider giving up t.v. for 2011…  🙂  (Not likely to happen.  Maybe just for Lent.)

(Actually, the problem is not t.v. so much as movies and t.v. on DVD.  Maybe I’ll give up t.v. and movies for Lent other than new episodes of Grey’s Anatomy and checking for snow days.  We’ll see.  Another topic for another time.)

Again, to encourage myself, the goal is not to finish all of these books, necessarily.  As with anytime I have bought a book, if I start reading it and it’s miserable, I won’t finish.  Books are to be enjoyed.  Nor is the goal to finish the shelf in order to begin to purchase books again.  I’m tempted to keep a count going of how many of the 67 books I have read.  67 books in 52 weeks is probably not going to happen, so there will be no count-keeping.  The goal isn’t “67 book reports.”  The goal is to not purchase books, but to enjoy the books that I have hoarded over the years.

🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty B
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 22:58:15

    Whooooaaaaaa! that is alot of books for 2011 AND you have lots of reading for your classes also. How many pages are in those 67 books? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 14:43:17

    I get a text to let me know about school closings and delays; no TV necessary!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Book Report #10: Secrets on the Wind « Dawn’s Place

Leave a Reply

