Weekend Waffles

Mmm, my house smells like Sunday!  You really can’t make pancakes or waffles unless it’s the weekend, I think.  My parents gave me a waffle maker for Christmas, and I love it!  I now have waffles in the freezer and spiced apple syrup in the fridge.  Yummy breakfasts ready for the week!

Here are the recipes.  The waffles I just whipped up today, no recipe, but they turned out so moist and delicious that I need to record what I did for future reference!  🙂  The syrup is a favorite family recipe.  I like it better than anything else on waffles, pancakes, and french toast, although real maple syrup is a very close second! 

Wheat-Oatmeal Waffles

1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup quick oats

2 Tbsp sugar

1/2 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

2 cups buttermilk (or just milk)

2 eggs

3 Tbsp melted butter

Mix all the dry ingredients.  Add the wet ingredients and mix well.  Prepare according to waffle maker instructions.

Spiced Apple Syrup

12 oz. frozen apple juice concentrate

1 1/2 cup water

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground all spice

pinch ginger

2 Tbsp cornstarch

4 Tbsp water

Heat juice concentrate, water, and spices in a saucepan until boiling.  Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 5 minutes.  Mix cornstarch and water together to make a smooth, thin paste.  Add to juice mixture and cook, stirring, until thickened slightly, about 5 minutes.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 18:02:14

    YUM!!! Make me some apple syrup will you? We too got a waffle maker and Tessa eats them regularly! Sounds delicious! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

