Zion Canyon

I just returned from a week-long vacation to Zion Canyon, in southern Utah.  It was fantastic, and I had many experiences unlike anything I’ve ever done before!  Pictures and stories to come soon.  Here are the random highlights:

–My sisters and I kept track of all the state license plates we saw the whole week.  We saw 44 states and 5 Canadian provinces!  Among those 44 states were Alaska and Hawaii.  Yes, Hawaii!!!  That made for an exiting moment in the middle of Nebraska!  🙂

–I disappointed myself in a big way on Wednesday, and I’ll probably have to live with it for the rest of my life.  Depending on future vacation plans, there may be no do-over available for this one.  More about that later.

–I accomplished something on Tuesday that I would have never thought I would:  an 8-mile hike, up 2200 feet of elevation, to a point 6508 feet above sea level…and then back down, which was actually the more painful part of the hike!

–The canyon walls…layers upon layers of rock…showed just how small we humans are, both in size and in time.  I can’t stop thinking of the ancient civilizations that have made their lives in between those walls, on those cliffs, and in that river, for generations.  And the canyon is so much older than any of the civilizations that have seen it!

Pictures and more soon!

Leave a Reply

