London (Foolishly)

London (Foolishly) by Nick Jonas

Foolishly I fall into the obvious pattern of it all.

Carelessly I stall, thinking change was just a friend that never called.

Tragedy’s all right when enemies become blessings in our life.

Yes, I am a music junky.  This is not news.  🙂

I was thinking about this kid, 17 years old, so much success, so much fame.  And so much talent…I love his music.  Jonas Brothers, as well as Nick Jonas & the Administration.  I admit that with a bit of hesitation, because it is not exactly “cool” for a 28-year-old to be a fan…and I’m not a fan so much as…I love the music.  Hmm…maybe that makes me a fan…darn it…  🙂 

(But may I insert a little sidenote…with ALL the artists that I love, the BEST music is NEVER the single that is on the radio!!!  So if all you know about the Jonas Brothers is “S.O.S.” and “Burnin’ Up,” may I suggest the following homework:  Find and listen to “Black Keys,” “World War III,” “Can’t Have You,” “Pushing Me Away,” and the entire Nick Jonas & the Administration album, Who I Am.  Trust me.)

I am on the edge of my seat to watch his career progress from here.  I’m very curious to see what he is doing in ten years, or twenty. 

But in that curiosity, therein lies my point for the evening.  Nick Jonas, I’m guessing, is probably close to having enough money to live off of for the rest of his life.  At the age of 17.  In that situation, a person would not be working to pay the bills, would he?  He can pay the bills.  But what else is there?  Just do nothing?  Just watch t.v. and play your guitar for your dog?  Just get up and go to bed every day with no concern for anything outside your door, because you don’t have to be concerned with anything?  It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to realize that would be no way to live.  In that situation, a person might keep working just because they love what they do, or just because they need to do something every day, have projects to work on and goals to accomplish. 

We think we want time off.  When we get it, we think we want it forever.  As a teacher, I have the priveledge of experiencing it, yearly.  Let me propose this:  Eternal time off is the same problem as eternal day-after-day of working.  At some point, you will ask yourself: “What am I doing here?  Why am I doing this?  What is my purpose for being here?” 

Life is one project after another.  It is not doing the same thing day after day.  But it’s very easy to fall into the same old pattern, to become complacent.  And change is not something that will necessarily come announcing itself at your door.  Sometimes you have to be aware that you are complacent, and you have to be the one to change something, or allow yourself to be changed by something.

Case-in-point:  This 17-year-old kid that we’ve been speaking of, this guy that worked his butt off to get to where he is, who lived out his adolescence in front of a public audience, who could probably retire on his 18th birthday if he wanted…this guy is playing Marius in Les Miserables in London right now.  Why?  Because he loves it.

Leave a Reply

