I would give my right arm…

This year is the 25th anniversary of the stage production of Les Miserables!  Les Mis is my favorite musical.  If I tell you it’s Rent, or Fiddler on the Roof, or Phantom of the Opera, or anything else, I’m lying!  Or I have forgotten about Les Mis.  I’m not sure how that happens, but I do occasionally say that Fiddler is my favorite.  Fiddler is my favorite musical that I have participated in, (I played first chair clarinet, of course!  🙂 ), but Les Miserables is the absolute best musical I have ever seen.

My first experience with Les Mis was seeing the 10th anniversary concert on public television.  I didn’t know what I was watching, because it seemed to have a story but very little props or staging.  But the music was fantastic.  I was bitten by the musical theater bug, even though I didn’t realize it.

I read Les Miserables, the novel by Victor Hugo, in high school.  I read it in French in French.  😉  I think I read it in French anyway.  I definitely read it in French class, but we may have read it partly in English.  Are you with me?  🙂  I didn’t really know that what I was reading related to the concert I saw on t.v., but I do remember the story felt a little familiar.

Then, oh then, I saw the production!  I’m fairly certain I saw it in high school or college, although for the life of me, I don’t remember where or with whom.  Shortly after I moved to Omaha, I saw it for a second time.  Such a complex and wonderful story, such emotionally deep characters, SUCH music!  If you don’t have goosebumps, tears, or both, at several points during the show, well, then you’re not listening.

The clips below are from the 10th anniversary concert.  I would like to post the entire thing on here, but I won’t!  Instead, I’ll give you the beginning and the end. 

I would give my right arm to be any of the people on that stage!

Especially the instrumentalists.

Except of course, if I gave my right arm, I wouldn’t be able to play an instrument…

And remember, the truth that once was spoken: To love another person is to see the face of God.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carla Ramsey
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 17:21:06

    *squee!* I remember watching this concert. AMAZING!!!!! I saw Les Mis at the Civic Center about 7 years ago. I cried at the end. Bawled. Such amazing music!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

