It’s Coming…

Ten more days of school.  Plus one crazy day of packing and getting ready to give the building over to the contractors for the summer leg of the remodel.

“For weeks, I have been wishing that I could fast-forward to the last day of school.  But now that it is the last day, I don’t want them to leave.”  –Phillip Done, 32 Third Graders and One Class Bunny

Me, too.  Every year.  And that day is coming soon.  Every year, at this time, I am torn between begging for the last day to come faster, and desiring nothing more than to just soak up as much of them as I can before I can’t see them anymore.

Dear parents: I do not know your kids as well as you do.  I do not wake in the night worrying about them (most of the time).  I do not wonder how they will pay for college.  I do not know their soccer schedule and their piano lesson schedule and whatnot.

But I do know your kids.  I know what they wake up worrying about.  I know whether or not they had breakfast.  I know whether or not they got to play outside last night.  I know what makes them mad and I know what makes them laugh.  I know what their favorite book is.  I know what their favorite t.v. show is.  I know when they are really sick and when they just miss you. 

I work hard to return them to you at the end of the day in the condition, or better, that you lent them to me.  So please, this summer, take care of them.  Give them good things to eat.  Give them books to read.  Give them space to play outside.  Enjoy them on purpose.  Return them to me in August in the condition that I am delivering them to you.

Leave a Reply

