Everything But the Oreos

 

Things that I like to eat that make me feel like crap:  beef, instant mashed potatoes, fast food, french fries, things with a lot of artificial coloring (especially red), desserts, candy, cookies, snack cakes, ice cream, sugar, sugar, sugar!

Things that I like to eat that make me feel great:  green smoothies, oranges, peaches, fresh pineapple, apples, pears, bananas, strawberries, cherries, blueberries, nectarines, tangerines, clementines, grapefruit, raspberries, blackberries, mullberries (can I buy those anywhere?), mangos, muskmelon, watermelon, kiwi, broccoli, cauliflower, green beans, carrots, beets, peas, sprouts, spinach, leaf lettuce, garden tomatoes, bell peppers, spaghetti squash with marinara, butternut squash soup, sweet potatoes, homemade mashed potatoes, homemade oven fries, homemade French onion soup, homemade garlic soup, hummus, plain yogurt, mint garden green tea, various herbal teas, various green tea blends, GREEN SMOOTHIES, GREEN SMOOTHIES, GREEN SMOOTHIES!!!

(In case anyone is curious, things I don’t like to eat: black licorice.  Or anything flavored like black licorice.  Or yogurt-covered rasins, because when I was about 12 I had a dream that they tasted like black licorice.  😛 )

I feel like absolute crap at this moment because I had a meatball sub from Subway today.  Why did I give in to the craving?  Ever since I’ve been familiar with green smoothies, and the feeling of raw food in general, I’ve been much more aware of when I feel rotten.  I didn’t know I was feeling rotten before green smoothies, because I didn’t know what “good” felt like.  I thought I reacted to beef “once in awhile,” usually when I hadn’t had enough water that day.  Now, I’m aware of the “general malaise” feeling that beef and other junk foods give me consistently.  Recently my mom reminded me that when I was little, beef made me act irritable and emotionally volatile, and I remember feeling like this even before I was old enough to label it with words, and obviously before I realized what was causing it. 

Now I know what’s causing it, I’m old enough to describe it, I have full freedom over the foods I choose to eat, and I’ve added a few more things to the list.  So why do I continue to eat this way?

I don’t know.

It’s good that I’m becoming more aware of what makes me feel good and what makes me feel bad.  Eventually I might link the taste of the food to how I will feel afterwards, and I’ll be averse to the idea of meatball subs.  Or snack cakes.  Or processed mashed potatoes.  Or oreos.

Maybe not.  🙂  If someday I’m eating 90% raw/vegan, I think I’ll still eat oreos!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joan
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 14:16:40

    Grandpa and I have been eating much more salads lately. He does not eat meat very often. I make the apple bundles and a salad for a meal It keeps till the nesy meal. The apple bundles I make are very lor calories. I use stick oleo instead of butter and I use splenda instead of sugar.Tho only bad thing in them is the mountain dew. We LOVE you

    Reply

  2. Doris Jacobs
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 14:36:23

    I’ve got a Mulberry tree! I thought they were pretty tasteless but if you want some I will pick some and stick them in the freezer this spring. They are usually ripe way before many other berries.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

