Random thoughts for the day…plus gratitudes

A bunch of random crap.  Gets a little personal.  Beware.  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I used the word “crap” with a student today.  Oops.  He was reading, and I said something like, “You missed all that crap right there.”  Darn it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Twitter…why am I sort of obsessed with it?  I have Facebook.  I like Facebook.  My friends are on Facebook.  I don’t think any of my (real-life) friends do the Twitter thing.  However, I signed up for a Twitter account finally, so that I could follow the tweets of the bloggy-friends!  🙂  So, if you do Twitter, follow me @dawnmorning1212.  Follow me where?  Well…nowhere.  Yet.  I have only posted one tweet so far!

Facebook and Twitter via text message…  Should I do it?  Not do it?  I don’t have the web on my phone, and I don’t care to, at this point.  But I often think of things to update my Facebook status when I’m waiting in line somewhere, or whatever.  But would I like all the incoming updates???

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gadgets…  Got an article at class tonight about “Generation Y.”  That’s me.  Born between 1977 and 1995.  I have to say, though, that’s quite an age range!!!  I haven’t read the article yet, but apparently it touches on all our gadgets that we have.  Ipods, laptops, digital cameras, mobile phones…we can’t go anywhere without being “plugged in.”  But the upside is, when we need information, we have it immediately.  Finding maps and restaurants when you’re on vacation.  Checking the weather.  News.  Sports.  Celeb gossip.  Okay, it can get a little out of hand…but we just live this way.  I wouldn’t know what to do without constant access.

Connection…  On that note, some of the women at my book club on Saturday morning were talking about how disconnected we are because of our “digital” connections.  We don’t know our neighbors.  We don’t live in community the way people used to.  Among other things, I would say to that, it’s always up to me to make a personal connection.  Also, the world of blogging has allowed me to make connections with people I otherwise wouldn’t even know.  And the world of Facebook has allowed me to stay connected with people that would otherwise have been in and out of my life.  It’s all a form of communication.  Community.  Even if it doesn’t look like what some might think of as “community.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

From MckDaddy’s post over on MckMama’s blog:  “Choosing fornication over sexual purity before I was married was a love the feeling and hate myself activity.”  This is not, in any way, meant to be a judgement on anyone else’s choices!  But for me…yeah!  I’ve never thought of it that way, or heard it described as such.  How honest, candid, and courageous of MckDaddy to say that.  (He must process things publicly like I do!  :))  Even in girly world:  “I love feeling like I get to have this person forever, even if he’s made no such claim.”  “I love feeling like he loves me so much he just can’t stand not to be with me.”  “I love the feeling of having this power over his desires.”  But if I loved myself…  You have to love yourself before someone else can love you.  I’m still learning that. 

I once told my sister that the only way I know to teach my future daughters about sexual purity is to give them a condom and say, “Go find a nice boy,” because I absolutely don’t know how to explain it.  🙂  (And God says, THAT is why you don’t yet have children!)  But my sister, thankfully, said, “Oh no you don’t!  If you get to that point and you still don’t know what to say, you send them to me!”  Okay.  It’s a deal.  And if she has children, I’ll potty-train them and teach her what to do with tantrums.  Piece of cake.  I’ll take tantrums, diapers, potty-training, screaming in church, biting, anything if I can get out of the sex talks!  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Don’t ever move to another apartment in the same building.  People never change your address.  I’m still going around with my car loan people, trying to get them to put the correct address on my bill!  I don’t recieve the bill in time to make the payment!!!  I had two phone conversations with them today…one to pay the bill (with the $12.50 fee for paying over the phone instead of mailing it and having it be late) and one to change my address.  And even on the phone, they were like, “No, we have that address, blah blah apartment 11.”  And I tell them “blah, blah, apartment 3,” and they’re like, “that’s what I just said.”  CHANGE THE APARTMENT NUMBER.  Leave everything else the same.  How hard can it be???

AND THEN, they’re like, “And can we expect the next payment to be on time?”  ARGH.  I would LOVE for the next payment to be on time!  Is the bill going to be on time???

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s off to bed to get some more Bella and Edward!  Actually, I’m up to the point where it’s going to be Bella and Jacob for awhile.  (Went to see New Moon.  Have to read the series all over again.  For the third time.)  You know, if Edward really were out of the picture, Bella and Jacob could have had a good thing going.  A large dose of time, coupled with Jacob’s goodness and understanding…it could have been very healing for Bella, had she needed it.  But Stephenie Meyer was right when she said that people should read New Moon twice.  Once you know how things will turn out with Edward, you can take your time and really enjoy “the wonderfulness that is Jacob.”  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am grateful for:

1. Twilight series

2. those little no-back cookies from Wal-Mart bakery.  WAY better than homemade!

3. That school and homework are always easier for me than I expect.  I know everyone is not so lucky, and I do not take it for granted.

4. the band Leeland

5. all my gadgets  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Both hands tied behind my back with nothing.  These times when we climb so fast, we’ll fall again.

–“Battlefield” by Jordin Sparks

Leave a Reply

