My Favorite Place In the World

(For best effect, click play now so you can listen while you read!)

When all the stars are in line, the 10:45 Mass at my church is my favorite thing in the world.  Today was one of those days.  There is nothing I love more than church music done well.  And when every factor lines up just right, we are a choir who does church music well.  When luck is on our side, the music and the message combine to form a powerful worship experience.  When the stars align…

Of course it’s not luck!  Of course it’s not “the stars being aligned.”  The Holy Spirit is present here with us.  Whether we feel it or not.  Those experiences when we feel it, when something is different, joyful…well, I think of those experiences as the hit we need to stay addicted.  🙂  I’m sure it’s different for everyone, but for me it’s obviously the music.  I’ve been going to 10:45 Mass at St. Vincent most weekends for several years because I hope I will experience that ethereal feeling of God being right with us.  Joining the choir has made those experiences even deeper.  But even when we have an “off” day, even when I don’t feel it, I know it’s true.  But I’m so glad that I do have occasional experiences of feeling those emotions, because it makes it easier to remember.

And I wonder…are those emotionally charged experiences a result of consistent pursuit of the Lord?

From Janelle at Girltalk:

The practice of the spiritual disciplines is a little like planting a seed. (Please ignore the fact that anything I have ever planted has died, and try to stick with me here.)  You plant a tiny seed in the dirt and you wait…water…wait… water. (I know that there is a little more to it than that, but you get the picture).  It takes time.  The plant only grows after consistent, faithful tending to the seed. 

I met with the Lord this morning.  I’m looking pretty much the same as I did yesterday (enjoying a huge glazed donut—the baby asked for it).  Mike hasn’t told me that I look more holy than the day before.  But as I read the Word and prayed this morning, I was watering.  Lord willing, I will wake up tomorrow morning and do the same thing.  Morning after morning of watering and waiting, and I will eventually see a little green thing sticking up out of the dirt.  Growth!  More watering, more waiting—more growth! 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 23:14:37

    That is the exact arrangement of “Blest Are They” that I use with my choir. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 20:24:18

    This is another one that should go on your young adult blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

