Thursday Gratitudes

A heart is not a home, without the one who gets you through the storm.  –“Before the Storm,” Jonas Brothers

 

Just one gratitude tonight…

<<<<I have suddenly been blessed with the ability to see the big picture.  I often cannot.  It is a challenge, because suddenly seeing the big picture is quite overwhelming.  In a school year, for example, I tend to just focus on the task at hand, and by the end of the year it all comes out just fine.  At this moment, I can see what I need to do tomorrow, and next week, and next month, and what the kids’ progress needs to look like by May.  It is overwhelming to be able to see it, but be used to seeing only what I can do right now.  It’s so easy to forget that this huge task that I can see doesn’t have to be done in a week.  It’s suddenly difficult to just take care of today.  Same with life issues.  I may be making big decisions, but for the moment I still have to go to work and clean my apartment and walk my dog.  I’m not used to needing to intentionally focus on those things.  I’m not used to those things seeming less important than the big picture.

All that being said, it is a blessing.  If I can find my balance, and not let it overwhelm me…then I can use it.  “The big picture” is something I usually have to rely on other people for, and it is a blessing to have it at my disposal.>>>>

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Oct 02, 2009 @ 08:55:16

    Did you write The Big Picture down so you can refer to it when you get bogged down in the little things? The Big Picture can make the little things more bearable for those of us who need to take our focus off the bigger to see the day to day stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

