Gratitude

In my obsession with Jonas Brothers music, I have been watching lots of interviews on YouTube.  Of course.  🙂  And the one thing that strikes me is the Jonas’ seemingly limitless gratitude.  They are grateful for everything.  Every other question, they turn around their answers to express how blessed they feel for what they are able to do.  I can’t help but think how much they live their lives in the public spotlight, how easy it would be to say, yeah, we like making music, but we could really live without all the screaming teenagers.  Or, sure, we’ll play a concert, but could we please not have our love lives splattered all over the tabloids.  Instead, they are very gracious.  They are aware that they are blessed with the opportunity to make music because of the fans, because of their lives in the spotlight.

And so, in the spirit of their gratitude, I have been inspired to be forcefully grateful.  🙂  There is a concept known as “fake it ’till you make it.”  I think if I get in the habit of finding things to be grateful for, eventually I will see them without searching.  I feel like I’m more selfish and critical than God wants me to be, and I would like to change that.  I have a feeling that sometimes my thanks will sound trite, and sometimes I might be grateful for the same thing day after day.  But the point is not to impress you with my gratitude, the point is to allow God to change me.  So, quick, five things I’m grateful for today:

1.  I’m so very, VERY grateful for the opportunity to sing at the Holland Center this weekend!  My church choir was invited to sing with the St. Louis Jesuits, and I feel so blessed to be part of such a talented group of people that would receive such an invitation.  I can’t wait, I’m so excited!  And in light of the past few weeks, I’m so happy to be so excited about something!

2.  I’m grateful for the many people I’ve encountered who are so forgiving.

3.  I’m grateful for a spirit of generosity in the world.  Yesterday, the person in front of me in the drive-up lane paid for my Starbucks.  I paid for the person behind me, and I truly hope they were blessed by that, but I will never be able to return the favor directly to the stranger in front of me.

4.  Today, I’m grateful for pickles.  🙂  (Because they’re cold, crisp, and delicious, that’s why!)

5.  I’m incredibly grateful for the men and women who protect us in the military, and the wives, husbands, and families who make sacrafices to support them.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 22:16:48

    You are right to fake it till you make it. I think it goes with all bad habits too. Unfortunately it can be a difficult thing to do sometimes. I am very, very grateful for my fantastic husband and our 4 adult children and their families that are just getting started.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

