You think Twilight is WHAT???

twilight2

So thanks to my awful, horrible, no good, very bad school year, my obsession with the Twilight Saga is fading.  A little bit.  🙂  And I suppose it’s not so much the fact that I’m working, as the fact that obsession is replaced by mere enthusiasm when I develop a new obsession.  So I blame this reduction to enthusiasm on my newfound obsession with Jonas Brothers music.  😛

IN ANY CASE…I stumbled upon an article entitled “Is Twilight Bad for Your Love Life?”  I was at work, so I didn’t click on the article, but I did respond in my head with an indignant, “No, it is NOT!”  And then of course when I got home, I had to read the article.  The poor, non-obsessed author cited four reasons she felt Twilight gives the wrong idea about love and relationships:

 

(By the way, there are a few very small clues ahead.  Don’t worry, I’m still protecting you, if you should choose to read the books!)

 

1. Bella has no outside hobbies.

“Mostly her life is about Edward, Edward, Edward. But what relationship can survive that?”

2. The guys are totally unrealistic.

“Excuse me, but a teenage boy at a beach is either going to be goofing around with the other boys, throwing marshmallows, or spending hours in the water.”

3. Bella is brainwashed.

“And as my mom says, no one loves a helpless woman.”

4. Bella is a domestic diva.

“There’s nothing wrong with cooking for a man, but doing it in tandem with constantly getting saved by a guy and worshipping said guy … it’s just too much. At least Belle in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast loves to read, right?”

 

To which I would like to say:

1. You may have a point.  In real life.  However, it is a story, and the point of the story is the relationship between Bella and Edward.  Of course most of what you read will be Bella’s thoughts/feelings/actions toward Edward.

2.  Of course the guys are unrealistic…um, they’re vampires?  🙂  But also, if we’re talking about what teenage girls should be exposed to, let’s point out that a lot of real teenage boys are just that–boys.  And it would serve teenage girls to have expectations of men.  I know my choices and attitudes at the age of 17 would have been much different if I had been entertaining the idea of a guy who was kind, selfless, chivalrous, and understanding.  Besides, what would be the harm in setting expectations too high?  The harm, when it comes to teenage girls, is in setting expectations too low.

3.  Bella is most definitely not helpless, and Edward’s main purpose is not to save her.  Read the rest of the series.  There’s a reason the image on the front of the fourth book is a chess queen.  The fact that Edward saves her a time or two as well…if I were bitten by a vampire, I’d want someone to save me!  And again, it’s fiction.  How many real people have you known who have needed to be saved from vampire venom?

4.  Even if that’s true…so?  Is there something inherently wrong with cooking?  Doing laundry?  Of course not.  Why is it that raging feminists see a woman doing a household task and go running for the hills?  Do raging feminists not cook or do laundry?  How do they live?  And by the way, do they think men don’t need to feed and clothe themselves?  Also, see #3.  And by the way, Bella does love to read.

 

Now, for my own four reasons why Twilight is good for your love life:

1. Bella is imperfect and insecure, and still ends up with someone wonderful.  Many an imperfect, insecure girl would benefit from that hope.  At the same time, imperfect and insecure though she is, she strikes me as “fine with herself.”  She knows who she is and what she thinks, and she doesn’t seem to try to change herself or be someone she is not.

2. That very Mr. Wonderful is also imperfect and insecure, with huge character flaws and poor judgement.  The lesson: You will end up with someone who is flawed.  He will be “the right guy” anyway.  As Juno’s dad said, “The right person will still think the sun shines out your ass.”  And vice versa.

3. Mr. Wonderful is relentless  in protecting Bella’s “virtue,” as they call it in the book.  Regardless of your beliefs on the topic, a guy like that isn’t easy to find in this world.  A fictitious guy like that is even harder to find, actually!  And finding that wonderful balance where sexuality is portrayed as a good thing, AND the sanctity of marriage is upheld?  A sexy, romantic story where the couple doesn’t actually have sex before marriage?  HOW does Stephenie Meyer do that?  And does that mean that in real life, saving sex for marriage is actually good for your sexuality?  And not having sex with your boyfriend doesn’t mean that you’re not a sexual person?  And aren’t these questions we want teenage girls to be considering?  I mean, I know what I believe about it all…NOW…but when I was in high school, I would have benefitted from considering these questions.

4.  Oh…pffft….well…argh….okay, so I only have three!  It’s awesome!  Read it!  That’s my last reason!  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 14:45:30

    You know, I finished reading book #4 awhile ago – I must call, we must discuss!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

