Has anyone seen my normal life hiding somewhere?

Can I please have a few minutes to complain?

Wait, what?  This is my blog?  I can say whatever I want?

Great, thanks!

 

It has been more than six days since I’ve felt like myself.  It feels like it may as well have been a year.  I’ve only worn sweat pants and t-shirts for six days.  My poor dog hasn’t been walked farther than the sidewalk in front of my building.  My sleep is interrupted when the cough syrup wears off.  Many little muscles throughout my body are sore from coughing so much.  I have used almost two full boxes of kleenexes.  I wore out the battery in my thermometer.  I am currently taking four drugs, at different intervals.  The antibiotic, once a day.  The prescription cough pills, three times a day.  Tylenol, every six hours or when I need it.  Robitussin, every four hours or when I need it.  It’s like a giant story problem!

I’m not hungry.  At all.  I’ve completely lost my appetite.  In the beginning, of course, it was just from being sick.  I think the prescription cough medicine is causing it now.  Today, at 1:38 p.m., was the first time I’ve felt physically hungry since last Thursday.  So I ate a small-ish meal, and I haven’t been hungry since.  I can force myself to eat a little bit of fruit or a smoothie, but I don’t think woman can live on fruit alone.

(Yes, 1:38 p.m.!  🙂  I was just doing my usual sick thing, laying on the couch, thinking maybe I’d had enough Golden Girls for today, and all of a sudden, I thought, ooh, my stomach is growling.  …HEY, MY STOMACH IS GROWLING!!!  It was quite an event, relative to the past six days.)

I don’t have much of a voice.  And talking makes me cough.  Although, so does breathing.

Possibly the most not-myself thing…I CAN’T SING!  I guess that proves I am actually on the mend, because on Friday and Saturday I really wouldn’t have cared.  But after a few days of it, I feel like someone may as well have put duct tape on my mouth.  Does anyone else sing their way through their day?  You know, singing along to the radio, singing in the shower?  Singing along to the commercials on t.v.?  Singing while you wash dishes?  I don’t realize how much I sing through my day until…nothing comes out.

 

I am absolutely going to work tomorrow.  Don’t second-guess me, don’t try to convince me not to.  I may just have to will myself back into a regular life.

However…

If I can’t talk, breathe, sing, or go more than three feet away from a box of kleenexes…how am I supposed to teach?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 07:53:06

    Well, what did you decide about work today?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

