Green Smoothie Challenge 2009

30-days-greenThe wonderful woman who taught me everything I know about green smoothies, Sara, is at it again!  She has announced the Happy Foody Green Smoothie Challenge.  From August 17 to September 17, we will drink at least 16oz. of green smoothie every day.  There are other healthy habits that you can commit to as well, but I will tell you from experience that you can do everything else the same in your life, drinking a green smoothie will still make a noticeable and wonderful difference!

 

You already know the differences I’ve noticed, but I will tell you again anyway, just to get you motivated for the challenge:

-Clearer, healthier skin.

-Digestive regularity…a previously undervalued quality in my life!  It feels like the good stuff in the green smoothie cleans me out from the inside.  To borrow a phrase I heard on Hannah Montana, of all places, I think a green smoothie is “nature’s broom.”  🙂  (Robbie Ray was talking about bran muffins, on Hannah Montana…but bran muffins have nothing on green smoothies!)

-Better sleep.  I don’t know how.

-More energy during the day, less “need” for coffee.

-It must support the immune system, because I very rarely get sick anymore, and only when I’ve lost my green smoothie habit for a couple of weeks.

-Effortless weight loss, when I increase my green smoothie intake to a quart for breakfast and a quart for dinner.  I don’t do this very often because I’m hesitant to eliminate fat and protein from two meals a day.  It doesn’t sound very healthy, even though it feels great.  Maybe I should trust my body, I don’t know.  Still trying to figure that one out.

-Fewer cravings for junk, more cravings for good stuff.  More cravings for more green smoothies.  🙂  If only I could find a tasty way to add protein to them, I think I could live on them!  The first time I did the challenge, I absolutely did not commit to cutting out sugar, but a lot of days it happened anyway, without me even thinking about it.

 

My current favorite smoothie recipe:

-1 banana

-about 1/2 cup chopped fresh pinapple, along with a little of the juice

-about 1/2 to 1 cup chopped fresh canteloupe

-about 1 1/2 to 2 cups fresh baby spinach

-water

 

One of the biggest reasons I was hesitant is that washing a blender can be a tedious process, compared to washing a plate and a fork from eating fruit or salad, and seemingly not necessarily worth the smoothie.  First of all, trust me, it is worth it!  Secondly, my blender instructions say that as long as I don’t use dairy in the blender, I don’t have to take it apart to wash it every single time.  When all I do is green smoothies, I usually take it apart about once a week (generally on Saturday morning).  Other mornings I use a three step process:  1) Rinse with warm water, to get all the green smoothie debris out.  2) Fill about half way with warm water, add a tiny drop of dish soap.  Put the lid on and shake vigorously.  3) Rinse the blender and the lid well with warm water.  This process works great if you do it right away.  I usually wash my blender before I even drink my smoothie.

 

If you click on the link to Sara’s post, you can find lots more information, testimonies from others who have done the green smoothie challenge, and a link to a great video of Sara making a green smoothie.  If you’re still a little hesitant about the process, that’s a great video!  You’ll notice she uses a high-powered blender called a Vita-Mix, which I do not.  I just have a regular blender.  She even mentions in the video, regular blenders work just fine, you just have to blend for longer if you want a completely smooth smoothie.  I have found that I have to add a little more water than I would like, to make everything from the top get blended down to the bottom.  After seeing her use her Vita-Mix with the “tamper” tool thingy, I might try using a spoon to carefully push things down that won’t find their way to the bottom on their own.  I’m not going to reccommend it yet, though, as I would imagine a spoon getting dropped into the blender might break either the spoon or the blender, not to mention ruin the smoothie!  Ooh, new idea…what about a wooden spoon, used upside down, so that the handle is pushing the greens down and the spoon part is keeping it from going through the little hole in the top of the blender?  I’ll keep you posted!

 

So…green smoothie challenge?  Who’s in?  😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 20:53:17

    I think I might be in….I just hate to commit to an “all or nothing” kind of gamble….you remember I am just a bit indecisive….hmmmm…..I have 6 days to decide….I will get back to ya:)

    Reply

  2. Kristen's Raw
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 15:42:09

    Green Smoothies rock! I can’t imagine life without them… I love adding banana or mango to them because of the lovely creaminess they create.

    Cheers to Green Smoothies,
    Kristen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

