For Blue Skies

 

This is a great song, “For Blue Skies” by Strays Don’t Sleep.  It is intense; it evokes both sadness and a sense of relief, of quiet joy. 

Forgiveness is a hard, hard thing.  Forgiving when you feel like the other person is more in the wrong than you are, is the epitome of forgiveness.  And yet, (or perhaps, and thus), it’s the most difficult situation to forgive.  When you feel like you’re sacraficing yourself, emotionally speaking, for the sake of the other, for the sake of the relationship.

Something that occured to me today…I can’t forgive enough for the both of us.  I can’t love enough for the both of us.  I can’t protect enough for the both of us.  I can’t forgive what happened to the other person that caused them to hurt me.  I can’t love the other person enough to change them.  I can’t protect the other person from being hurt.  Their pain is their responsibility.  I am human, a finite creature.  My emotional capacity, though changeable and unmeasureable, has limits.  There is a line in the song, “What you couldn’t do, I will.”  I can forgive the other person, even if they can’t forgive.  But I probably can’t forgive enough for the both of us.  And in that reality, “What you couldn’t do, I will,” is Jesus’ line.  To me, and to the other person.  When we finite humans can’t love enough to take care of one another and protect one another, Jesus is loving enough for all of us.  And his infinite capacity for forgiveness is evident in his sacrafice for us.  He is not a finite human.  And I am ever so grateful.

Leave a Reply

