Music Fix

I worked in my classroom with my new coteacher today.  I don’t want to talk about it.  Not because it was horrible, but because I’m still overwhelmed, and feeling in over my head, and I only have bad things to say, even though it wasn’t horrible.

On the way home, I stopped at Half Price Books for a music fix.  (You might stop on the way home for a beer, I stop for a CD.)  I found four:

iron_and_wine_our_endless_numbered_days

Iron & Wine:  Our Endless Numbered Days

 

Muse-Absolution2003

Muse: Absolution

 

travis-12-memories

Travis: 12 Memories

 

Travis-The_Invisible_Band

Travis: The Invisible Band 

 

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m totally on a Muse kick!  How did I not know about this band???

 

I’ve decided Iron & Wine is the best music to read to.  It’s sort of…gentle.  But in an awesome way.  🙂  It doesn’t get in the way of your reading.  Often if I have to read or write, I want music with no words — classical, or movie scores, or something.  Music with lyrics gets in the way of what I’m reading or trying to write.  It distracts the “words section” of my brain, I guess!  But Iron & Wine music doesn’t force itself upon you.  It is very acoustic, lots of acoustic guitar, and his soft, pondering voice singing.

Leave a Reply

