Helpful Broccoli

food5

Good news…or is it news?  Eating broccoli daily stops ulcers and cancer, according to an article at Natural News

Wait a minute, I’m sorry…am I the only one who has known since I was old enough to distinguish broccoli from chocolate cake that vegetables are good for you?  This is not news, it’s a reminder.

However, there are a couple of reasons I appreciate the article, anyway.  One, it’s good to see scientific research that supports and explains what common sense tells us is good for us.  Two, it is good news…for me.  I’m a broccoli junky.  (Hello, my name is Dawn, and I’m addicted to broccoli…)  I could eat cooked broccoli with a little bit of butter and lemon juice at every meal.  Raw broccoli dipped in ranch or hummus is excellent, too.  I like knowing that something I like to do is good for me!  And three, it’s not spirulina or kelp or goji berries or astaxanthin.  It’s broccoli!  In many of the Natural News articles, the foods are things I’ve never heard of, don’t know what they look like, where to buy them, or how to cook them.  It’s always good to see something regular and familiar described with such high praise of its nutritional value.  If you read too many of those articles, you start to feel like you can’t be healthy just eating regular food.

That brings me to my point…I still like Michael Pollan’s motto: Eat food, not too much, mostly plants.  Each of those three points will increase my health.  Eat food…broccoli is food.  Twinkies are not.  Eggs are food.  Instant breakfast powder is not.  Cherries are food.  Fruit roll-ups are not.  You get the idea.  Not too much…eat when you’re hungry, stop when you’re not.  Easier said than done for many people, but if you can do it, and if you’re sticking to the other two ideas, it eliminates the need to count calories or points or grams.  Mostly plants…I think at this point in our human knowledge, it goes without saying that plant-foods are better for us than animal-foods.  Animal products certainly play a role in a healthy diet, but a well balanced diet is mostly plants and some meat, dairy, etc.  The three ideas in Mr. Pollan’s motto really drive home the common sense of good nutrition.  We don’t need spirulina or goji berries to be healthy, although we can certainly include those kinds of things if we want to.  We just need to listen to our common sense about what is food and what is not; what is good for us and what is not; what will make us feel good and what will not.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go cook some broccoli…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 17:50:20

    Hey, I like instant breakfast powder! 😉 lol. Or, I DID, when I could have milk… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

