Vacation Preview

In the upcoming days, I have many stories and thoughts from my vacation to San Diego…and I actually took some pictures this time, too! 🙂 But for today, I’m going to just set the stage, and then I’m going to get all my complaining out of my system. Ready? 🙂

I went to San Diego from Thursday to Tuesday, with one of my favorite people in the world, Dave, to see another of my favorite people in the world, Jessica, and her husband Chris, and Dave’s friend Jeff. So, the characters in this story are me and Dave from Omaha, and Jessica, Chris, and Jeff, who all live in the San Diego area. Get ready to hear a lot about the ocean, and see lots of pictures of the ocean. There will be subplots related to rhinos, camels, a dog named Maggie, a fishbowl, and looking up a skirt.

Are you interested now? 🙂

Okay, now let’s get this complaining and moot comments out of the way…

1. I…NEED….FRUIT. Eating out for six days in a row, and then coming home at midnight to an apartment with no food to speak of…I need some fruit!!!  Grocery store, here I come!

2. HOW did I go for five days in sunny San Diego, and only get sunburnt on day six?????

3. I LOVE to fly!!! I love take-off and landing. Love it. I actually love the up-and-down feeling of a little bit of turbulence, although I’d rather have a smooth flight so I would be allowed to get up and use the restroom and stretch my legs in the middle of it. I don’t know why I was ever nervous to fly! …Okay, I do know why. People can’t fly. I don’t have wings. Being so far above the ground is not a natural thing for humans to be able to do. However, I am aware that statistically, it is much safer to fly than drive, so I know that no matter how unnatural it feels, it is a safe thing to do. Also, I felt very close to God on these flights, just like I did on the flights to and from Vegas, two years ago. (I don’t fly often!) This trip, two things stuck in my mind as we were flying. One, a verse from Psalms that says, “When I feel my foot slipping, your love, oh Lord, holds me up.” God’s love alone can hold that plane in the air. On the other hand, if God wants to crash the plane, I’m in. I’m “all in” for God, completely surrendered to His will in my life, and if He chooses that my plane should crash, I’m not afraid, for it is His will that determines what days I get to spend here on earth (or in the sky above it) and what days I will spend with Him in heaven.  Being in an airplane is the only time I’ve felt so unafraid, so completely surrendered to God.

Weird it may be, but that is how I felt.

Now, stay tuned for the more entertaining stories!  🙂

Leave a Reply

