Searching For Peace

I feel like I’ve been kicked around today.  It was a hard day.  I’m just searching for some peace.

One of the last conversations of my school day, one of my students told me she’s going to Seattle for vacation this summer.  Immediately, that’s where my thoughts were for the next hour.  I found Seattle to be such a fun, relaxing, peaceful experience.  I was thinking about “our beach.”

the beach

I’ve blogged this picture before, I’m pretty sure I talked about this beach before.  My sisters and I had arrived in Seattle after 24 hours of driving, and we wanted to go to the water.  We found this little park, and someone told us to go down a certain walking trail if we wanted to go to the beach.  We followed this steep trail through trees and brush, and found ourselves on a big deck.

58

It was this little beach, long down the shoreline but narrow, bordered close by cliffs full of trees.  It was mostly deserted, just a couple of families with kids.  We went down the stairs and took off our shoes.

59

The water was chilly, but the sun was warm.  We spent some time exploring the water…

72

the driftwood…

69

the strange seashells…

67

the seaweed…

74

I even tasted the water to see if it was really ocean water!  (It was.)  Of all the places I’ve ever been, I think that beach is my favorite place in the world.  I hope if I ever go back to Seattle, I can find that beach back again.  It might have just been a once-in-a-lifetime experience, though, since we stumbled upon the park and then were pointed down the trail.  I would have to stumble upon it all over again.  But I would love to be there, with my sisters, or anyone else, or even just me.

61

 

(P.S.  There seem to be pictures of me and Megan, and pictures of Sarah and Megan.  Does anyone else think this implies that Megan needs to get better at picking up the camera and taking some pictures?  :))

Leave a Reply

