Falling Off the Face of the Earth

To my fellow teachers out there:  I sincerely hope you are reading my blog and think I’m just being a big drama queen.  Really, I hope your transition from school year to summer is more peaceful and manageable than mine.  And I beg you…what is your secret?  🙂

I’m at my parents’ dining room table, finding myself with a few free minutes.  I finished what I could do on the grant report I brought to work on this weekend; I’m waiting for some paperwork to arrive in the mail before I can do anything else with it.  I need to make a salad later for the bachelor/bachelorette party later tonight.  But right now, these few minutes are my own.

Why is everything crazy?  Or, crazier than usual end-of-the-school-year stuff?  Among other things, I moved to a different apartment, I am switching grades and therefore moving to another classroom, my brother is getting married in a few weeks…  Just a few big things add up to more weekends away from home and more hours in the classroom during the week.  And those hours and trips add up to more junk food and beer and less exercise, which deplete my energy level like crazy.  (Thus the salad as my contribution tonight!)    (Maybe I should spend these few minutes going for a run…)  I feel like I’ve fallen off the face of the earth.

I’ve been obsessed recently with God’s promises of help.  A couple of weeks ago, I was recovering from food poisoning (or stomach flu of some kind), and I knew the upcoming week would be very busy, and I had just moved and my apartment was still a mess.  I didn’t feel good, and I was edging toward dispair.  I was looking for something to hold onto, something that would just get me through the following 12 hours.  I just opened to Psalms and started reading.  And I found Psalm 94:18-19:

When I say, “My foot is slipping,” your love, Lord, holds me up.  When cares increase within me, your comfort gives me joy.

I love that thought: His love, alone, can keep me from falling.  And here I am, two weeks later, still battling deadlines and a pile of tasks deeper than ever, and He is right here with me, protecting me, helping me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Doris Jacobs
    May 18, 2009 @ 08:56:05

    You moved? Does this mean you now have those wood floors?

    This Summer will probably not be one of the most laid back you have experienced since beginning teaching.
    Love you,
    Doris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

