Akiane

ForbiddenFruit

I should have been sleeping.  I should have turned off the television an hour before.  I should have…but instead, I was watching a little piece on TLC about Akiane, a 13-year-old artist.  She is amazing.  She said her earliest memory is of a vision she had at the age of 4, of God telling her to paint.  The painting you see above is “The Forbidden Fruit,” painted at the age of 10.   Here is what Akiane had to say about it on her website:

The Forbidden Fruit

…One morning I woke up earlier than usual, and right away I decided to paint, but I could not find any canvas in my studio.  My family was still asleep, so quietly, still in my pajamas, I searched my art closets and found one small canvas that I’d worked on a few years ago, but later gessoed it in black.

After my prayer I began painting a young woman’s portrait, next to a branch of fruit.  Suddenly I felt God say, blend all the races, because this is Eve, the mother of all mankind.

Right then and there, I understood the meaning:

The tree of the knowledge of good and evil is full of forbidden fruit: red for the knowledge of evil, the green for the knowledge of good.  It was created to be tempting, fragrant and easy to be picked.  Although the fruit resembles the grapes, it was not.

At first, Eve thinks that she will gain wisdom by biting into the fruit of knowledge, but unexpectedly she finds the deception as the red blood of suffering drips from the green fruit.  The knowledge of good and evil is simply too much to understand and experience for a human, and now Eve is looking up to God for forgiveness and help…

– Akiane

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Alexis
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 20:32:32

    akiane, you are surely gifted! and i also need your help. my little sister has been gong toward the path of the devil please pray for her please before it is too late and she becomes possesed… please akiane.

    -alexis

    Reply

Leave a Reply

