Time and Happiness

We spend a lot of time waiting to be happy.  Especially at this stage in life, we all seem to be waiting for something.

I’ll finally be happy when I get married.

I’ll be happy when I get a promotion.

I’ll be happy when I have a baby.

I’ll be happy when I finish a masters degree.

I’ll be happy when I buy a house.

In every season of life, it’s tempting to put all your hopes of happiness on the next thing, whatever it may be.  But here’s the thing…we are blessed and cursed in this world with a thing called time.  In fact, lots of people seem to be running around living like we are neither blessed nor cursed with time.  They just want to get through the time.  We want to just get through today, or this month, or this year.  Sometimes we don’t even know what it is we’re waiting for!

But as I said, time is a blessing and a curse that we have.  We get one shot at this life.  Many of us have heaven to look forward to, after we get through all our days.  But as far as we know, whether we’re happy in this life or not, we don’t get to have it over again.  If we don’t enjoy today, we will wake up tomorrow and we won’t get today back.

Not to disregard the importance of remembering the past and preparing for the future, but we live in the present.  So, what have you done today to live, not just get through it?

My answers?  I took a walk this evening when it was 82 degrees as the sun was setting.  It was beautiful.  I soaked up the sun and the warm air.  I love weather!  Pretty much all of it.  I love the changes in the seasons.  Today I just adore the heat and the sunshine, and I’m thinking about swimming and laying out and all sorts of warm weather things!  The fact that it was cold for a few months makes me absolutely passionate about today!

I am in love with Chinese food from HyVee.  Weird, right?  🙂  But I’ve had it probably six times in the last two weeks or so.  Always sesame chicken or general chicken.  Yum!

I guess that’s it for today…but at this moment I can honestly say I am blissfully happy!  🙂

Leave a Reply

