A New Job

My principal asked me to stop by her office today when I had a moment.  I came, she asked me in, and she shut the door.  Then she told me that I won’t be teaching preschool next year…

I’LL BE TEACHING FIRST GRADE!!!! 

YAY!!!!!

Yes, I asked for this.  I filled out my paperwork to request a grade change, but I didn’t specify the grade level.  I just told my principal I am ready for a change, and she can put me wherever she has an opening.  I honestly didn’t have a preference, I just put it out in the universe and waited to see what would happen.

I am beyond excited!  From the outside, you might think, “How different can first grade be from preschool?”  Well, the kids are not so different, really.  They are able to use a kleenex, go to the bathroom, and put on their coats without adult assistance.  They are able to spend 7 hours away from mommy without too much stress.  Other than that, they’re still little kids who are excited to come to school, who love their teacher, and who have big imaginations.  “So, why do you want a change?”  Because the job, the job is so different!!!  A preschool teacher’s job is to teach the kids how to be at school, and to expose them to lots of experiences they are supposed to have had outside of school.  A preschool teacher’s day is made up of lots and lots of bathrooms, coats, zippers, kleenexes, conflict resolution, bandaid distributing, broken toy fixing, redirecting, redirecting, redirecting…peppered with a few moments of academic content.  A first grade teacher’s day is focused on academic content…peppered with a few moments of conflict resolution and bandaid distributing!

I don’t mind the little kids.  I fall in love with the little kids!  What I do mind is the job.  “I went to college for this?”  That thought crosses my mind more than I care to admit.  Now, to be fair, the world of early childhood education needs well-educated and highly motivated people among its ranks, and I am proud to be a part of it, and I am 100% behind the cause of early childhood education.  I just know, I am not quite the right person for this particular job.  I am so glad that I did it for four years, and I have learned a lot.  Early childhood is still my thing, and I do not want to go teach 7th grade, or high school, or go become a businesswoman.  I just want to teach content!

And now, I will!  Math!  Social studies!  Guided reading groups!  Literacy work stations!  SPELLING!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 13:01:22

    Congrats! Congrats! Congrats! I’m so excited for you! That will be a great change and you will be a great 1st grade teacher!

    Reply

  2. betty
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 13:12:48

    I am soooooo happy for you!

    Reply

  3. Doris Jacobs
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 09:59:12

    Wow! and for the first few years you will be teaching some of the same kids you had the past few years. Now that is continuity! You will be great at teaching learning to read but you would be great at teaching reading to learn also. 7-8 year olds seem so much more ready for school than 3-4 year olds.

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 22:14:55

    Congrats Dawn!! YAY! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

