Coffee

coffee

It is EVERYWHERE!  Have you ever noticed that?  I gave up coffee for Lent.  I know, it’s supposed to be hard.  And, you know, “When you’re fasting, comb your hair, clean your clothes, don’t let your brothers know, and your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”  Or however the verse goes.  So I suppose I shouldn’t be blogging about it…

First of all, I discovered a long time ago that having a little bit of coffee in the morning cuts down on sugar cravings for the rest of the day, especially at work.  Why?  Well, I think that one of the times I crave sugar is when I’m actually tired.  If I have some caffeine in my system, I don’t feel so tired.  Secondly, I just crave the taste.  Third, my morning doesn’t feel complete without something hot to drink!  I suppose I could do hot cocoa or tea, but as I was considering that this morning, I decided that if I replace it with something, it’s not a sacrafice.

 

A few days ago, Sarah and I were discussing how we explain this strange little tradition to those around us who ask.  Why do we give something up for Lent?  I think it is threefold:

1. It makes Easter more special.  Easter is more important than Christmas.  Christmas is only important because of Easter, if you think about it.  But the world puts much more emphasis on Christmas.  We want to remind ourselves of the importance of Easter, help ourselves really feel it.  I give up something that is not evil, in itself.  I give it up with the intention of having it back on Easter, not intending to give it up forever.  It’s just a small way to add to the joy of Easter.

2.  Jesus made the ultimate sacrafice in love for me.  He suffered and died on the cross to pay the price for my sins.  It may seem superficial to sacrafice a small indulgence like coffee and compare it to Jesus’ sacrafice.  But in our culture, we rarely sacrafice anything.  We are so used to having exactly what we want the moment we want it.  Denying a desire for the sake of the Lord is a small way I can sacrafice out of love for Him.

3.  Fasting from something that I like reminds me of my dependence on God.  There is nothing wrong with coffee, (or ice cream, candy, t.v.), but there is something wrong with depending on it for happiness or pleasure.  It is easy to slip into depending on my coffee to make me feel awake, alert, and focused at work.  This is a reminder that God is truly the source to depend on.

 

If you participate in this “strange little tradition,” I would love to hear what you plan to do this Lent!  Leave a comment!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Feb 28, 2009 @ 10:44:32

    Yeah, that giant picture of a cup of coffee was a good idea… mouth is watering.

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Feb 28, 2009 @ 14:24:43

    I gave up my caffeine too. Yesterday and today I’m dealing with the headache. Hopefully it will soon be gone.

    Reply

  3. Doris Jacobs
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 13:54:51

    I gave up my source of caffiene for Lent also. I started a few weeks ago witht eh weaning from it so I could avoid the headaches. The big difference for me is I am not going to be enjoying this indulgence on Easter. I need to be free of the Mountain Dew for the long haul. Ash Wednesday was just a good day to set as the goal to be done with it. so far 3 weeks with no Mt Dew and minimal headaches.
    Doris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

