Blue Magic

dow_ball

I bought myself a shiny new Downy ball!

I lost mine a few weeks ago.  It has got to be here somewhere!  But I’m giving up, accepting that it is lost, and I got a new one.  In the mean time, I’ve been trying to get downstairs at just the right time to add the fabric softener, and it’s a pain.  I don’t mind going all the way down there, but I can’t seem to get down there at the right time!  Either I’m too early and I have to sit and listen to the washer for a few minutes.  Or I’m too late and the laundry is already in the spin cycle. 

“Why don’t you just use dryer sheets?” you may ask.  Well, I don’t really use the dryer!  For towels, which don’t need fabric softener.  For sheets.  Once in awhile when I need to get all my loads washed and dried in one day.  But I have a wonderful indoor clothesline, and I tend to just hang everything to dry.  Plus, usually about 1/3 to 1/2 of each load is made up of more delicate items that I would hang to dry even if I were using the dryer, so it’s not generally worth it to pay $1.25 to dry 1/2 a load of laundry!  (It’s not really worth it ever, since all kinds of clothes dry themselves for free, and without using our energy resources, in 24 hours or less if I hang them up!)  So fabric softener must go in the washer.

When I had a washer and dryer right off my kitchen, I barely ever used my Downy ball.  When I heard the washer filling for the rinse cycle, I just went and added softener.  If I was going to be in the apartment anyway, it was much easier than filling the Downy ball.

But now, many loads of laundry will be softened at just the right time with a shiny new Downy ball!  I think they changed it a little.  It’s definitely a different shade of blue.  And maybe it has a bigger opening because it’s easier to pour the softener in, and maybe the inside is a better shape for dumping the extra water out after using it.  If your Downy ball is a few years old, you might want to look at the shiny new ones…  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Doris Jacobs
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 09:00:34

    The other benefit to drying inside is the added humidity this time of year. It helps all sorts of things from dry skin and nose to decreasing warp and dry out damage to furnature FOR FREE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

