Exhaustion

tired-puppy

It comes with the week of too much.  Too much work.  Too many preschoolers.  Not enough paraeducators.  (Actually, no paras.  Just me.  And ALL the preschoolers.  Mostly who are only children, who need, like, 20 hours of attention in a 7 hour school day.  Each.  That is 140 hours of ME in one 7 hour school day.)  Too much snow.  Too many slippery roads.  Too many dreams about people I can’t see today, but just get to think about all day long.

(Get your head out of the gutter.  I dreamed I lived in some kind of apartment that was more like a dorm room, because I had to leave my apartment to go take a shower in the big dorm-like bathroom.  Except this bathroom was in another building, a bathroom building like you would find at a beach or a campground.  So I had to leave my apartment, go outside in the snow, in the dark at 5:30 a.m., to go take a shower.  And on my way, I ran into Mike.  Like, he was walking down the sidewalk in one direction, and here I come in the other direction, in my pajamas and snow boots, and it was like, “Hey, I didn’t expect to see you at this time of day!”  Weird, weird, weird, just like most of the dreams I have.)

I’ve decided procrastination is the devil’s toy.  I am an awful procrastinator.  But it feels so good to do something right away, instead of putting it off.  If I put it off, and things happen beyond my control, getting it done becomes huge stress.  Wouldn’t it feel better if it was done already?  So this week turned out to be a lot harder than I thought it would be.  So what?  It would have been so nice to know that what I needed to have done by Friday was done already.

I’ve decided that there are tasks in this world that can avoid procrastination altogether.  They can either be done right away, or they can be forgotten.  If it is unneccesary, and it has been procrastinated, and it would release some stress to just let it go, maybe that’s what should be done.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 08:48:45

    Awwww….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

