listen to this…

 

I am the one winged bird for flying sinking quickly to the ground

See your faith in me subsiding

See you prime for giving in

I give you all that I am

I am the sound of love’s arriving echoed softly on the sand

Lay your head upon my shoulder

Lay your hand within my hand

I give you all that I am

And I breathe where you breathe

Let me stand where you stand

With all that I am

I am the white dove for a soldier ever marching as to war

I would give my life to save you, I stand guarded at your door

I give you all that I am

I am the one winged bird for flying sinking quickly to the ground

I am the blind man for a watchdog

I am prime for giving in

I’ll show you all that I am

And I breathe so you breathe

Let me stand so you stand

With all that I am

 

“All That I Am” by Rob Thomas

 

Lyrics are nothing without music.  Well, not nothing.  These are beautiful.  But lyrics need…slowness.  Is that a word?  It takes ten seconds to read through these lyrics, but it takes four minutes to listen to the song and really feel it.  And the only way these lyrics mean anything is to start with the song, and then you notice the words.  I breathe so you breathe…I would give my life to save you…I give you all that I am…  Those are powerful words.

Leave a Reply

