Inform Yourself!

You’re never going to believe what just happened to me…I was polled!  🙂

From the nature of the questions, I am nearly certain it was a poll by one of the congressional candidates in my district.  It is coincidental, because I just this afternoon watched an episode of The West Wing where the staffers conducted a poll.

It was just the kick in the butt that I needed.  As the ficticious President Bartlet said, “Decisions are made by those who show up.”  I believe in voting, I think it’s very important that we inform ourselves and we vote.  That is the foundation of our government, of the people, by the people, and for the people.  We didn’t want to be subjects of a king anymore, we wanted to be represented.  Voting is how that happens!  So, it’s time to inform myself.  I know how I will vote for the presidential race, but I don’t even know what else will be on my ballot.  For one thing, I’m very curious about these two congressional candidates, after this phone call!  But there will also be local government, and maybe a few issues.  It’s perfectly ethical to go, fill in my bubble for the presidential candidate of my choice, and turn it in.  It feels almost unethical to vote for something or someone that I haven’t informed myself on!  But no matter how minor or low-media an issue or a candidate, this is how we are governed.  This is my voice in government.  We don’t all get to vote on what bills should be passed, nor should we, but we do get to vote for the people who make those decisions.  So, go, inform yourself, and vote!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Chad
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 09:32:23

    Vote for Lee Terry…. he’s a nice guy and helps us out in Washington quite a bit! Thats the only advice I can give you… I’m not even sure who I’m voting for for President.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

