Finding God

If I had to invent a place where I could see God the best, this would be it.  It’s called the Holy Family Shrine in Gretna, NE.  It is basically made of windows, so you can see for miles.  You can see the image of the holy family etched in the glass above the altar.  The holes in the tile floor are open to this flow of water that goes from the back of the church to the front.  I’ve always thought it would be just wonderful to have a place that had the holy silent feeling of a church, but where you could see as much of the sky as possible.

I went tonight to see my friend Matt play a concert at the shrine.  Between the views, the music, the water, I could really feel God in our presence.  The concert was wonderful, the atmosphere was perfect, and the company was ideal.  🙂  Mike’s parents graciously agreed to drive, and take Mike and his brother and myself with them.  It was a lovely Sunday evening.

I’ve blogged about it before, but I’ll promote Matt’s music one more time.  It is fantastic.  Check out www.matthewmayer.com to listen.  My favorite is “Beyond,” but I bought a cd tonight, so a new favorite may emerge!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Doris Jacobs
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 14:54:52

    WOW!!! One more place to put on my list of places to see before I die or can no longer get around. Doris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

