An Adventure In Cooking

Lately, I’ve had the “try new recipe” bug.  In my Rachel Ray magazine, I found a quick, simple little recipe for Coconut Curry Chicken.  Its novelty is that it has only five ingredients: chicken breast, rice, coconut milk, five spice powder, and curry powder.  (Olive oil, salt, and pepper don’t count, I think because they assume those three things are already in my kitchen.)  And so began the adventure.

Bring water and rice to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes.  I chose to use whole-grain rice, which takes a bit longer, so I started the rice and then went to do laundry before beginning the rest.

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in small saucepan over medium heat.  Add 2 teaspoons curry powder and cook for one minute.  Add one can coconut milk and cook until reduced by half, about 7 minutes.  Did you know coconut milk smells like a tanning salon?  It’s just not the smell of food.

Slice chicken breasts into strips, toss with 2 teaspoons five spice powder, and salt and pepper.  One of the five spices is licorice.  That’s my least favorite flavor.  It smells weird and gross.

Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium high in a heavy skillet.  Increase heat to high, add chicken, and stir-fry until cooked through, about 6 minutes.  High is very hot.  Oil that splatters onto my hands from this pan is very hot.  This is very hot, splattery, licorice-smelling chicken.

Add coconut milk mixture to chicken.  Oh.  My.  Gosh.  Now it smells good!  It smells like something Mike ate across the table from me at a Thai restaurant, that I ended up wishing I’d ordered.  Hopefully that’s what it tastes like. 

Serve over rice.  Mmm.  Very, very good.  Not very spicy.  How could I make it more spicy next time?  Very, very creamy.  Coconut milk is so fatty.  What can I do next time to make it lighter?  I will definitely be trying this adventure again!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 20:04:00

    I was reading my SELF magazine today at the gym and there was a recipe in it that was very similar to this one you are talking about but it calls for Coconut Milk Lite. So obviously there is the Lite version. I don’t know how it compares though. The recipe sounds fantastic though. I will have to make it because I want to try it!

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 08:51:11

    I was expecting it to be so bad the dog wouldn’t even try it until the very last paragraph! The suspense in this entry was great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

