Fortune Cookies

Tonight I was thinking about a conversation I need to have with someone, and about how I’m nervous about having this conversation, and I don’t know why I’m nervous.  This person would never hurt me, I trust this person completely, and the topic of the conversation is really not that big of a deal.  But I’m feeling a bit nervous to bring it up.  So I’m trying to work myself out of the nervousness, and convince myself that when it’s the right moment for the conversation, it will just come easily.  And at that moment I was just praying, just as I have since I knew I was nervous about this, for courage to let it come out when the time is right.  And at that moment I opened my fortune cookie from my take-out Chinese, and it said:

Worries will vanish if you tackle them bravely.

Seriously.  How could that be anything but God???  🙂

Mostly, I think fortune telling or any sort of prediction of the future or mind-reading is one of two things.  One, what it says could apply to anyone, and because you believe, you hear it as specific to you.  Two, there is an explanation that we don’t entirely understand.  Like astrology, if certain signs have certain personalities, I believe it’s true, but we don’t necessarily know why.  The astrologers may have noticed the similarities, and the likelihoods that people born at certain times will be certain ways.  It may or may not be because of when you were born, but the correlations may remain.  Either way, in the situation of horoscopes or fortune cookies or whatever, I don’t take them too seriously.  I take them as bit of wisdom that would benefit me just as they would anyone who read them.

But there may be a third possibility.  God speaks to us in many ways, through scripture, through other people, through music, etc.  Why not through fortune cookies?  I was going to get something from a drive-thru because it’s 100 degrees (literally), but as I was driving away from my apartment, I was hit with this feeling of energy.  So I decided to go get groceries first, rather than getting them tomorrow.  While I was at the grocery store, I walked past the Chinese take-out and it just sounded good, and I always get two meals out of it because they give you so much, and there was a special going on that looked good.  Because I’m me, because I believe, there is only one option about how that fortune cookie landed in my hand tonight.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 16:04:38

    Yes, that is God. 🙂 Now, I believe we first talked about this conversation months ago. Step to it, chica! Even God thinks so! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 18:13:10

    I’ve told her that for a while 😉 If God is telling you it, you better do it….you don’t want to get on his bad side 🙂 Love you!

    Reply

  3. Mom
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 19:46:21

    Sometimes God whispers a message to you and sometimes he hits you over the head with a fortune cookie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

