Mom

Happy Mothers’ Day, Mom!!!!  That is a picture of the two of us on her first Mothers’ Day, this weekend is her 27th Mothers’ Day!

Some of the things I love about my Mom:

-She can tell if you don’t feel good just by looking at your eyes.

-When I was a kid she packed hot soup in a thermos for my lunch.

-She used to take us each with her to her appointments in Des Moines sometimes, just to do a little shopping and have lunch, so that we got some one-on-one time with her.

-She taught me how to make bread, grow a garden, and sew.

-She let me bang on the piano to my heart’s content for 18 years!

-She let me get bored, every summer, so that I would learn not to be bored.

-She still makes me green jello when I’m sick.  She also still tries not to cook with beef when I’m at her house.

-She knows that I’m scared of funerals, and she doesn’t make me feel like a baby for it.

-She let me check out as many books as I wanted when we went to the library.

-She understands that her children’s need for her motherly guidance does not end when we turn 18.

How is this for a homemade mothers’ day card?  You can keep it forever, but it doesn’t have to take up space on top of the piano!  I love you, Mom!  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    May 10, 2008 @ 18:40:52

    Thanks, Dawn, I love it! I love you too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

