My Little Green

I got a Little Green.

This blog is turning into “How Dawn Loves to Clean Her Apartment!”  🙂

This story actually starts with a frustration.  You remember my dog Pal, right?  You remember how for about two years, I was consistently frustrated with how difficult it was to housetrain him?  You remember how, for almost a year now, I haven’t really commented on it?  That’s because I really thought he was finally housetrained.  Even when I visited other people’s houses, I usually didn’t take his crate, and he usually did just fine.  Well…the frustration is back!!!!  For the past month or so, Pal has been having accident after accident, on average 5 or 6 times a week or more.  AAAAHHHH!!!!   At first there was no rhyme or reason, I could be home, or I could be gone, he could have gone outside 5 hours ago, or he could have gone outside 20 minutes ago.  For the past couple of weeks, he’s been having accidents only when I’m not home, so I decided to start putting him in his crate again whenever I leave.

After all this time, he still goes into the crate happily when I tell him to.  He absolutely never goes into the crate without me telling him to, so it confuses me.  But he seems to feel more secure in the crate when I’m gone.  And it makes sense…he is such a sociable dog!  He loves kids, strangers, other dogs, anyone who he can try to get to play with him.  Being alone in the apartment must not be too comfortable for him.  So, on the one hand I’m very frustrated because he did so well for so long.  On the other hand, I’m beginning to accept that if he’s always a “crate dog,” that will be okay with me.  Maybe someday there will be another dog to keep him company…  🙂

Anyway, with all the accidents, I’m thinking I need to clean my carpets.  I live in a small one-bedroom apartment, so when I came across the Bissell Little Green, I’m thinking that it would do the job.  It’s about the same price as renting a Rug Doctor two to three times.  It’s also small and easy enough that I could whip it out and clean the spot anytime Pal has an accident.  That’s really what it’s for, to clean small areas or individual stains.  So far I’ve cleaned my hallway, and it took 45 minutes!  But the Little Green does work great.  The carpet looks perfect, and the hall smells really clean.  Plus…it’s kind of fun.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 04:02:37

    Pal’s regression is rather odd. you may want to talk to or take him to the vet. It can be a “behavior” but it can also be a physical problem that is easily treated.

    Reply

  2. Joan
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 06:16:48

    Did you check with a veternarian? He may have a urinary tract problem. Or he may have a problem with his digestive system. MJaybe a change in dog food is the solution. Love Grandma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

