Asparagus

asparagus

 Tonight I cooked a wonderful dish, Lime-Cilantro Soba Noodles, and I added some asparagus.  Yum!  I’m learning to like asparagus.  I didn’t like it when I was a kid, same as peas, squash, sweet potatoes, and many other vegetables that I now love.  I’ve found that if I find a way to cook the vegetables that brings out certain flavors, I can love any vegetable!  My mother is a purist when it comes to vegetables, so I grew up having them plain, plain, plain, with maybe a little salt and pepper added on my plate if I wanted.  I’m not so pure, I like to add flavor and blend flavors.  My vegetables’ best friends are butter, garlic, lemon, lime, olive oil, cilantro, crushed red pepper, Tony’s Cajun Seasoning, onions, chicken or beef broth, sea salt, basil, oregano, thyme, cream of celery soup, melty cheese…I could go on and on.  And you know I don’t really measure, and I don’t always start with a recipe, so every dish turns out differently each time.  Tonight, I didn’t measure, but I did follow the recipe for the noodles.  I wasn’t too hungry, so I just had a big bowl of noodles and asparagus, and a glass of wine.  But after tasting the way the noodles turned out, and with awareness that I have about four or five more servings in my fridge, I’m thinking it would be really good with steak.  Meal idea for tomorrow…  🙂

Leave a Reply

