Psalm 143:8

I’m not much for memorizing Scripture.  I’m Catholic!  We don’t do that.  We drink good red wine and have seven sacraments and baptize the babies before they’re old enough to make a choice for themselves, but we don’t memorize the Bible!  🙂  (Remind me to come back to the baptism thing for a later post, because I have a bit to say about that, as well…)

But today I decided I need something to draw from when there is no Bible in front of me, no holy water, no quiet space to go and be with my Father.  I need words that I can immediately recite when I need God right that moment.  So, I looked through my prayer journal and settled on a Psalm verse that I wrote down last July.  I don’t intend to memorize the entire Bible.  I haven’t even read the whole thing!  I absolutely do not intend to memorize just for the sake of memorizing.  For now, I want one verse that means something to me, and I want it in my head and in my heart, ready and waiting for whenever I need it.  I’m claiming this as my verse for now.  Psalm 143:8…

Remind me each morning of Your constant love, for I put my trust in You.  My prayers go up to You; show me the way I should go.

Remind me each morning of Your constant love…I have a tendency to forget that You are with me always, so remind me every day.

For I put my trust in You…You are the only one who can save me, You are the only one who can help me.  My every need depends upon Your will.  I am only safe if You say I am, I am only fed and clothed if You say I am.  I am only forgiven because You say I am.

My prayers go up to You…Praying is the best way I have to be close to You.  I am learning about prayer and making it a daily habit.  Hear my prayer.

Show me the way I should go…Tell me what to do.  No one knows what You know, so I want to do what You say is best.  Show me what that is.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My Journey…so far… « Dawn’s Place

Leave a Reply

