Beliefs…Choices…and Real Clothes

This sentence is going to sound very strange, because obviously there are not too many things that I enjoy about being sick.  But one of my favorite things about being sick is taking a shower in the morning and just putting on clean pajamas when I’m done.  It’s so nice to just be clean and warm and go straight back to bed.  That being said, after a few days of that, it is SO nice to be feeling good enough to put on regular clothes again!  So here I am, exhausted from the effort, about to take another nap, but showered and dressed in jeans and a top.  NOT pajamas!

My fever finally broke yesterday, as you may be able to tell from my slightly more coherent sentences.  So my head feels clearer, like it’s easier to think.  So I thought I would revisit what I wrote while I was fully in the trenches of flu…not much, it turns out!  🙂  It feels like forever ago since I first started feeling crappy, but today is only the fourth day of this.  Plus, it turns out I didn’t need to take a sick day today, because school was canceled due to the cold weather.

Yeah, I don’t get it either.  Too cold to go to school???  🙂

But the sun is shining in, making my aparment cozy and warm.  Pal is enjoying a nap in a sunbeam, at the moment.  The sunbeam is about to hit the love seat, at which time I plan to do the same thing. 

But to get to the point…I told you that I would say something if I felt differently today about the whole flu shot/going to the doctor/America on drugs thing.  I don’t.  I will tell you this…As you can probably tell, I feel great passion for many things.  I feel it is my right, and my responsibility, to make choices based upon what I believe is best for me and my world as I understand it.  I will hold my own opinions, and since this is my blog, I will tell you about them and I will tell you why I think what I think.  But, to the best of my ability, I will NEVER tell you that my opinion is absolutely the right one.  I will NEVER tell you that my choice should be your choice.  And to the best of my ability to be aware of my doing it, I will absolutely NEVER judge you for making a different choice from mine.

If I were asked what I want this blog to do for the people who read it, I would have to say two things.  One, I would ideally like to inspire them to make their own choices based on their own beliefs, to demonstrate their own passion for how they live, to figure out how to stand up for their own choices the way I’m learning to stand up for mine.  Two, I want to set an example of my most important life principle, which is simply that we each have the freedom to hold our own beliefs.  It’s not our place to know who is right and who is wrong.  It’s our job to live by our own beliefs and encourage and support others to live by theirs, no matter how similar or different their beliefs and choices are to our own.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Feb 20, 2008 @ 21:28:19

    whew! I am caught up! I am glad you’re feeling better. Try one of those “pajama days” just for fun–not when your sick–it is even better!
    Keep on the mend!
    Love
    Betty

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 19:16:40

    Well is looks at though even if you would have gotten a flu shot, there is still a good chance you would have gotten sick. The CDC is now saying that they totally missed the ball on the strain of flu for the year and hope that they can fix it and nail it for next years strain. Good for you wanting your body to be in charge!!! Love you! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Mom
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 20:40:57

    Dawn, you are still proving you are my daughter!!

    Reply

  4. Doris
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 15:07:59

    I am glad you are feeling better. I really wish more people that feel this way would tell their doctors instead of taking the easy way out and acting as if they just forgot. These are all good arguments but do no good if you keep them from the doctor.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

