The Flu

Diagnosis: Influenza A.

This sucks.

The doctor, of course, asked me if I’d had a flu shot this year.  I said no, made it sound like I was just careless about it.  The truth is, I made a concious choice not to get a flu shot, and I guess I just have a hard time standing up for it.  I’ve had influenza once before, a few years ago, and it sucked then, too.  But even when I had the flu then, and even while I have the flu now, I don’t regret my choice.  I’m young and healthy, and if I get the flu I know I’ll recover no problem.  For me, influenza is not such a health risk that it’s worth an immunization. 

I’ll tell you what I was careless about…eating well.  Getting enough sleep.  Exercising.  The past couple of weeks, those things have gone by the wayside, and I truly believe taking care of myself in that way could have prevented this.

All that being said, this still sucks, and I reserve the right to whine a little.  🙂  I feel like crap, I can’t stay awake for more than a couple of hours at a time, taking Pal outside feels like the most difficult chore in the world, need I go on?  I am really looking forward to getting back to normal.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doris
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 15:24:56

    Dawn, Dawn, Dawn, Think about what you said. I am young and healthy and will recover. What about the kids in your classroom? are all of them strong enough to withstand this influenza and not have serious consequences? For many special needs kids a simple respiratory illness can mean the difference between breathing on their own and a ventilator for a time. What about the people in your choir? are all of them healthy enough to withstand this? Do they have to live in a protective isolation because someone else is afraid of a shot? You may be healthy enough but you work and live in a community and when you get this you spread it to many others that are not as healthy as you. Even the shot does not completely protect many of those vulnerable people. They may not get as sick with the shot as with out but for many people that is still very dangerous to have a slight case of influenza. Good habits help us fight off many things but influenza is a virus and can get in even through the healthiest defenses.
    I love you and do not wish this on you. It could have been a lot less painful and misserable with the added immunity the shot would have given you.
    Drink plenty of fluids and stay home.
    Doris

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Feb 20, 2008 @ 21:23:44

    we all make our own decisions and hopefully with the best of intentions…I chose the flu shot and have not gotten the flu while many around me have. I will continue to count my blessings while praying for your good health to return quickly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

