Writing Well vs. Dumping

No, I did not give up blogging for Lent!

Although….

No, I won’t.  🙂

I gave up the three C’s…cookies, cake, candy.  However, if Mike buys me dessert tomorrow night, I may break it just once.  It’s been hard, but it’s not like I gave up all sweets.  If I need my sugar fix, I can have it.  I didn’t give up cheesecake, pie, hot chocolate, soda, honey on toast, sugar in my coffee…  🙂  But what they say is true–Once you stop eating so much sugar, you stop craving it so much. 

To be completely truthful, I haven’t been blogging because of two reasons.  One, it’s been a little crazy around here!  That’s never stopped me before, but I don’t really crave to sit and write for a long time when I’m barely getting enough sleep at the moment.  Two, in staff development we’ve been learning about the 6 Traits method of teaching writing, and it’s totally changed how I think about my own writing.  What I have been doing on my blog is basically journaling, just dumping everything from my head into the website.  But lately I’ve really been thinking about the reader, and it makes it more difficult to write.  Not less fun, just more of a challenge.  It would take more time to produce a piece of writing worthy of an outside reader, so I just don’t do it when life is so crazy.  When I think about my usual blog entry, including this one, I’m thinking about each trait…Did I have one main idea with relevant and interesting details?…How was my organization?  Did I have a beginning, middle, and end, with interesting and clear transistions?…What about word choice?  Did my phrases and sentences make it interesting and clear?…What was the voice of the entry?  Would someone want to listen to this writing?…

(The other two traits, sentence fluency and conventions, I would like to think I have mastered.  You tell me.  Do my sentences make sense?  Did I capitalize in the right place, put the appropriate punctuation?)  🙂

There are still a million things I think of every day that I want to blog about.  But instead of picking five things and dumping everything from my thoughts and feelings into this blog, I would rather settle on one thing, make a good piece of writing that someone would want to read, and then put in on the blog.  That takes more time, time that I haven’t had lately.  So one of two things needs to happen.  Either I need to forget about 6 Traits when I’m blogging, or I need to have more time on my hands.  Until one of those things happens, you will just have to settle for fewer, but hopefully better, blog entries.  🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 23:25:29

    Forget about the 6 Traits, just blog, journal, whatever! I would rather read YOU, then read a properly though out entry {much like a college paper?}. That’s what I love about your blog. You dump your thoughts here, but it’s exactly what I miss talking to every day…DAWN! 🙂

    Love you!

    Reply

  2. Doris
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 09:41:52

    I’m with Becky. You can come back and make it pretty after you get old and want to leave a legacy for your great grandchildren. Your mechanics are fine for the reading community you are writing for.
    Love you,
    Doris

    Reply

  3. megan989
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 23:20:30

    I understand what ur talking about with ur 6 traits and all. sometimes it’s nice to write something good… but dont let that get in the way of writing about whatever u want to. some days it’s fun to just throw crap at the wall and see how much of it sticks, other days it’s nice to treat a piece like a great cup of coffee, like u need to savor it and contemplate every sip. but i say do whtever the heck u want to do and i will try to read it whenever i can! love u!!! 😛

    Reply

  4. Tara
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 17:59:58

    They are making preschool teachers sit through meetings about 6 Trait writing? Oh my gosh that drives me crazy when things are not relevant to what you are doing at that particular moment. How would the older grades like to sit through meetings about songs/chants/ etc to use at calendar time. They’d freak!!! Good luck with teaching 6 Traits to your students. Let me know how it works 😉

    Reply

  5. Mom
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 20:25:57

    I personally think you already are using the traits you wrote about in your own writing. It always seems coherent, not rambling here and there, and with good transitions. And I am not saying this just because I’m your mother! Love you.

    Reply

  6. Betty
    Feb 20, 2008 @ 21:21:16

    Once again I am playing catch up:(
    Write on, Dawn, Write on! Do you also remember the lesson about just get the words and thoughts out–clean it up later? I love reading your good “literature” whether is rambles or flows!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

