$10…for what, exactly?

I have ANOTHER cold, and I decided today I should drown it.  In my imagination, if I drink enough water and eat enough fruit, all the healthy clean liquid will just drown all the virus bugs and wash them right out of my system.  So right now I’m not going to bed until I finish this glass of water!  And then I’ll take another glass to bed and finish it by the time I turn off the light.  So while I finish glass #1, I thought I would rant a little on the blog.

My coworkers are playing The Biggest Loser.  We all pitch in $10, and the person to lose the highest percentage of weight gets the money.  $10 times a lot of participants is a nice chunk of money!  Right before it started, I was all about NO MORE DIETING!!!  I wanted to make good choices about what I eat, but not follow a list of rules or count anything.  I wanted to workout for reasons besides how I look.  And then, for some reason, I pitched in my $10 and weighed in at school.  Ugh.

What was I thinking?

I have told a couple of the other teachers that I have days when I care and days when I don’t.  The day I paid my $10, I cared.  But in reality, there are three attitudes I’ve noticed.  There are the days when I care about the number on the scale, and I eat very little, and I think about my skinny clothes and all the skinny people in the world.  Then there are days when I don’t care, usually right after a day of caring about a number on a scale, when I eat a lot of junk, and think about all the skinny people in the world, and feel crappy because I probably won’t ever be one.  Oh, and all the chemicals and preservatives I’m putting in my body probably don’t help with the bad feelings, either. 

Then there’s the third type of day…the day when I care about ME.  I eat WELL…not too much, not too little, just exactly as much as my body is wanting.  Not junk, not “meal replacements,” not chemicals, but REAL food.  Fruits and veggies, whole grains, dairy foods, sometimes meat.  Plenty of seasoning, cooked just the way I love them.  On this day, I also exercise…but not to burn calories.  Because it feels good, and it’s fun.  Because it’s a good time to hang out with The Boy.  Because it’s sunny and I just can’t stay inside.  Because I want to accomplish something.  Because it feels REALLY good the next day. 

I should have never joined the game.  I don’t want to weigh in anymore.  I want more days like that one.

Have you heard of these people who eat nothing cooked, only raw foods?  There’s just no way…cold food all winter???  🙂  Besides, while I love cooked veggies, I have to be in just the right mood to eat raw veggies.  I would live on fruit and water if I tried to do this!  Doesn’t sound too healthy!

Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten about the rest of our trip to Vegas!  Part 3 coming soon.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 23:01:56

    Dawn-a-thon: Just remember that no matter what kind of day you are having, you are fabulous!! Maybe this will get you in the mode to thinking YOU, and therefore lead to more of those days that you like! I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

